Abstract Submission
Doctoral Consortium
Workshops, Tutorials & Panels

IS Education and E-learning
Track Co-chairs:

Christopher CHEONG, RMIT University, christopher.cheong@rmit.edu.au

Osamu SATO, Tokyo Keizai University, osamsato@tku.ac.jp

Tsai-Hsin CHU, National Chiayi University, thchu@mail.ncyu.edu.tw

Description and Topics of Interest:

The rapid evolution and ubiquity of information technologies, such as smart devices, mobile technologies, social networking, cloud computing, and analytics, can have a profound effect on learning and education. In fact, they have already been used in conjunction with approaches such as gamification and learning analytics to develop new and innovative teaching approaches and methods, and to improve learning experiences and outcomes for students around the world in IS and other disciplines.


This track will present and discuss IS education and learning, explore and evaluate teaching and learning methods to enhance students’ learning experiences and outcomes. The focus of the track is on new and innovative approaches to curriculum, course design, pedagogy, and practice.


We welcome high quality research papers in any major topic of IS education and learning. All research methods and approaches addressing key issues in IS Education and E-Learning are welcomed.

Topics include, but are not limited to:
Curriculum innovation, design, and model curricula
Pedagogical approaches and evaluation
Program assessment and accreditation issues
Assurance of learning
Work integrated learning
Enhancing students’ learning experiences through new technologies
Learning analytics
Learning through serious games, gamification and play
MOOCs and flipped classrooms
Virtual Reality (VR) and Augmented Reality (AR) in Education
Emerging technologies and IS education
Contemporary social learning issues in IS education
Educational technologies and Web 2.0/3.0 in IS education
E-Learning and asynchronous media
Novel teaching cases

Associate Editors (in alphabetical order)

Chia-ping Yu, Tamkang University, Taiwan
Christian Guetl, Graz University of Technology, Austria
France Cheong, RMIT University, Austria
Han Chin Liu, National Chiayi University, Taiwan
Hideaki Kitanaka, Takushoku University, Japan
Hiroshi Sasaki, Rikkyo University, Japan
Hsiao Fen Chen, National Chi Nan University, Taiwan
Justin Filippou, RMIT University, Australia
Ling Chieh Kung, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
Pei Yu Wang, National Chiayi University, Taiwan
Tetsuya Uchiki, Saitama University, Japan
Yoshiki Matsui, Yokohama National University, Japan
Yutaka Ueda, Seikei University, Japan